Improving the accessibility of information and communication in the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts

Description

The project stems from the common concern of members of the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA), researchers and clinicians to increase participation and inclusion of individuals with communication limitations in an environment such as the MMFA. Due to difficulties in communicating verbally and retaining information, and due to accompanying potential cognitive and physical limitations, persons with aphasia typically have difficulties understanding long and complex explanatory texts, posing questions, interacting with others, etc. Obstacles such as these may otherwise detract from this population’s experience, may exclude them from certain exhibits or facilities, and may cause anxiety and confusion, resulting in a growing number of community members choosing to not visit the MMFA or other cultural centres. Our team comprising researchers, museum personnel, a clinician and a student assistant will work together with up to15 people with aphasia and their caregivers to identify real-world obstacles as they experience a walk-through of the MMFA. The immediate results of the study are anticipated to provide specific recommendations, leading to precise and customized modifications and transformations at the MMFA.

Objectives

  1. To understand the experience and identifying the challenges experienced by the group of persons with communication difficulties and their caregivers as they participate in a walk-through of the MMFA.
  2. To study from a linguistic/psycholinguistic perspective the written materials accompanying the exhibits and other pamphlets and guides in order to identify areas that can be improved so that they can become more accessible to people with language and communication difficulties.
  3. Following an iterative process, to propose, verify, and adjust concrete modifications.

Milestones

  1. Preparation: Pre-walk through meetings. Decide on walk-through trajectories. Finalize questionnaires and walk-through procedure
  2. Walk-through the museum
  3. Data analysis: Qualitative analysis of notes taken during the briefing session and the walk-through, comments expressed by the participants and audio recordings. Presentation of report and of the written text modification process and basic principles
  4. Text modification phase: Text simplification and creation of visually accessible materials and guides
  5. Verification of solutions: Test solution-taking measures and modifications and implement adjustments
  6. Outcome and deliverables: Open house to showcase steps toward improving accessibility and inclusion. Dissemination of results and solutions. Write up results for media release, and submission to scientific conferences and journals.

Last update : October 11, 2018

Global progress
2- Preparation
2- Walk-through the museum
3- Data analysis
4- Text modification phase
5- Verification of solutions
6- Outcome and deliverables
Team members
  • Eva Kehayia, principal investigator | Professor, McGill University, CRIR
  • Gonia Jarema, principal investigator | Professor, Université de Montréal, CRIR
  • Thomas Bastien, principal partner | Directeur de l’Éducation et du Mieux-Être, MBAM
  • Christie Brien, co-investigator | Post-doctoral fellow, McGill University
  • Tiiu Poldma, co-investigator | Professor, Université de Montréal, CRIR
  • Christine Alary-Gauvreau, collaborator | Speech Therapist and Ph.D. Student, Université de Montréal, CRIR
  • Josée Duhaime, principal partner | Chef des opérations, Éducation et Mieux-Être, MBAM
  • Louise Giroux, principal partner | Responsable des programmes éducatifs – Mieux-Être, Éducation et Mieux-Être, MBAM
Intersectoral collaboration agent
Scientific sectors
Innovation stages
  • Émergence, Expérimentation
All projects

Améliorer l’accessibilité de l’information et de la communication au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal

Description

Ce projet émerge de la volonté partagée du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM), de chercheurs et de cliniciens d’améliorer la participation et l’inclusion des personnes ayant des limitations communicationnelles au musée. En raison de difficultés à communiquer verbalement et à assimiler l’information, et parfois aussi en raison de limitations physiques et cognitives, les personnes aphasiques éprouvent souvent des difficultés à comprendre de longs textes explicatifs, à poser des questions, à interagir avec les autres, etc. Ces obstacles peuvent les empêcher de vivre une expérience satisfaisante, les exclure de certains lieux ou expositions, et être la cause d’anxiété et de confusion. La conséquence est qu’un nombre croissant de personnes choisissent de ne pas visiter le musée ou d’autres lieux culturels. Notre équipe est composée de chercheurs, de membres du personnel du MBAM, d’une clinicienne et d’une assistante de recherche. Nous travaillerons avec 15 personnes aphasiques et leurs accompagnateurs pour identifier les obstacles en situation réelle lors d’une visite au musée. Les résultats de cette étude permettront de formuler des recommandations précises et d’apporter des modifications adaptées au sein du MBAM.

Objectifs

  1. Comprendre l’expérience et identifier les défis vécus par des personnes ayant des difficultés de communication et leurs accompagnateurs lors d’une déambulation (walk-through) au MBAM.
  2. D’un point de vue linguistique et psycholinguistique, analyser le matériel écrit accompagnant les expositions, les dépliants et les guides et cibler les améliorations possibles pour les rendre plus accessibles aux personnes ayant des difficultés de langage et de communication.
  3. En suivant un processus itératif, proposer des modifications concrètes, en faire la vérification, et faire les ajustements nécessaires.

Jalons

  1. Préparation : Rencontres préparatoires pour établir les trajectoires des déambulations, préparer les questionnaires et déterminer les procédures.
  2. Déambulation (walk-through) dans le musée
  3. Analyse des données : Analyse qualitative des notes prises lors des rencontres d’explication et la déambulation, des commentaires formulés par les participants et des enregistrements. Présentation d’un rapport, des principes de base et du processus de modification du texte écrit.
  4. Modification des textes : Simplification du texte et création d’outils accessibles.
  5. Vérification des solutions : Mise à l’épreuve et ajustement des solutions proposées.
  6. Résultats et livrables : Événement « portes ouvertes » visant à exposer les étapes vers l’amélioration de l’accessibilité et de l’inclusion. Communiqué de presse, soumissions d’articles et de communications scientifiques.

Dernière mise à jour : 11 octobre 2018

État d'avancement global
1- Préparation
2- Déambulation dans le musée
3- Analyse des données
4- Modification des textes
5- Vérification des solutions proposées
6- Résultats et livrables
Membres de l'équipe
  • Eva Kehayia, chercheure principale | professeure, Université McGill, CRIR
  • Gonia Jarema, chercheure principale | professeure, Université de Montréal, CRIR
  • Thomas Bastien, partenaire principal | directeur de l’Éducation et du Mieux-Être, MBAM
  • Christie Brien, co-chercheure | post-doctorante, Université McGill
  • Tiiu Poldma, co-chercheure | professeure, Université de Montréal, CRIR
  • Christine Alary-Gauvreau, collaboratrice | orthophoniste et doctorante, Université de Montréal, CRIR
  • Josée Duhaime, partenaire principal | chef des opérations, Éducation et Mieux-Être, MBAM
  • Louise Giroux, partenaire principal | responsable des programmes éducatifs – Mieux-Être, Éducation et Mieux-Être, MBAM
Agent de concertation intersectorielle
Secteurs scientifiques
Phases d'innovation
  • Émergence, Expérimentation
Tous les projets