Objectives

The general objective of this initiative is to facilitate and bring together the driving forces in research, innovation, knowledge transfer and knowledge appropriation working in the various partner organizations (research, government, public, clinical, community-based and private enterprise) that are active in habilitation-rehabilitation and support social inclusion. The initiative will be in synergy with organizations representing service users that can, through their actions, make a significant contribution to the objective of a more inclusive society. The specific objectives of the Inclusive Society initiative are to:

  • Intensify research by adopting an intersectoral approach to co-construct knowledge that will generate innovation;
  • Encourage and facilitate the partners’ active participation in the various stages of co-constructing knowledge, including by identifying problems and developing solutions;
  • Ensure knowledge transfer, exchange and appropriation to facilitate the implementation of innovations or practical solutions to the targeted problems;
  • Enhance training for highly qualified researchers, students and staff in approaches to intersectoral research that encourage social innovation;
  • Consolidate and encourage the creation of new national and international partnerships;
  • Identify mechanisms for ensuring the sustainability of the research activities and knowledge transfer in order to generate long-term effects on an inclusive society;
  • Assess, through indicators, the impacts of the intersectoral initiative’s programming and its various fields of expertise.

Intersectoral synergies

Why adopt an intersectoral approach? Because the project of creating a more inclusive society is highly complex and requires the pooling of expertise, knowledge and means from more than one of the main scientific sectors in Quebec (the social sciences and humanities, health, the natural sciences and engineering).

Participatory approach

The presence of a diverse group of committed partners at the onset of the initiative is key to the process used for co-construction of research and coordinated action. These partners are stakeholders in a decision-making process designed to identify the actions to be taken to develop and transfer knowledge and appropriate and leverage the innovations generated by the initiative.

Innovation as a foundation

Innovation is key to the initiative’s knowledge development and transfer process, whether the innovation is technological, clinical or social. The Inclusive Society initiative is based on the concept of social innovation as defined by the Réseau québécois en innovation sociale (RQIS). A social innovation is a new idea, approach or intervention, a new service, a new product or a new law, a new type of organization that more appropriately and more sustainably meets a well-defined social need than the existing solutions; a solution that has found favour within an institution, organization or community and that produces a measurable benefit to the community rather than only to certain individuals. A social innovation is transformative and systemic in scope. In its inherent creativity, it constitutes a break from the status quo.

Social innovations are “social” in terms of both their ultimate purposes and their processes. They meet social needs while creating new relationships between people and groups that had not necessarily been in the habit of cooperating. Social innovations are derived from processes that are necessarily open. [translation]

The process of creating social innovations comprises three phases:

Objectifs

L’objectif général de cette initiative est d’animer et de concerter les forces vives en recherche, innovation, transfert et appropriation de connaissances qui oeuvrent dans les différentes organisations (de recherche, gouvernementales, publiques, cliniques, communautaires et de l’entreprise privée) en adaptation-réadaptation et en soutien à l’intégration sociale, en synergie avec des organismes représentants des utilisateurs/usagers de service et qui peuvent, par leurs actions, apporter une contribution significative à l’objectif d’une société plus inclusive. Les objectifs spécifiques de l’initiative Société inclusive sont :

  • Intensifier la recherche dans une approche intersectorielle de co-construction des savoirs favorisant l’innovation.
  • Encourager et faciliter une participation active de partenaires aux différentes étapes de co-construction des savoirs, incluant l’identification des problématiques et le développement de solutions.
  • Assurer le transfert, l’échange et l’appropriation des connaissances pour faciliter l’implantation d’innovations ou de solutions concrètes à des problématiques ciblées.
  • Accroître la formation des chercheurs, d’étudiants et du personnel hautement qualifié aux approches de recherche intersectorielle favorisant l’innovation sociale.
  • Consolider et favoriser la création de nouveaux partenariats nationaux et internationaux. Identifier les mécanismes permettant d’assurer la pérennisation des activités de recherche et de transfert des connaissances afin de permettre des effets à long terme sur la société inclusive.
  • Évaluer, par des indicateurs, les retombées de la programmation de l’initiative intersectorielle et de ses différents volets.

Une synergie intersectorielle
Pourquoi une approche intersectorielle? Parce que le projet d’une société plus inclusive est d’une grande complexité et exige la mise en commun d’expertises, de connaissances et de moyens provenant de plus d’un des grands secteurs scientifiques au Québec (Sciences humaines et sociales, Santé, Sciences naturelles et génie).

Une approche participative
La présence de partenaires diversifiés et engagés dès le début de l’initiative est la pierre angulaire du processus de co-construction de la recherche et d’actions concertées. Ceux-ci sont partie prenante du processus de décision quant aux actions à poser pour le développement de connaissances, le transfert des connaissances, l’appropriation et la mobilisation des innovations qui découleront de l’initiative.

L’innovation comme fondement
L’innovation est au coeur du processus de développement et de transfert des connaissances de l’initiative, qu’elle soit technologique, clinique ou sociale. L’initiative Société inclusive s’appuie sur la notion d’innovation sociale, telle que définie par le Réseau québécois en innovation sociale (RQIS).  Une innovation sociale est une nouvelle idée, approche ou intervention, un nouveau service, un nouveau produit ou une nouvelle loi, un nouveau type d’organisation qui répond plus adéquatement et plus durablement que les solutions existantes à un besoin social bien défini, une solution qui a trouvé preneur au sein d’une institution, d’une organisation ou d’une communauté et qui produit un bénéfice mesurable pour la collectivité et non seulement pour certains individus. La portée d’une innovation sociale est transformatrice et systémique. Elle constitue, dans sa créativité inhérente, une rupture avec l’existant.

Les innovations sociales sont « sociales » autant dans leurs finalités que dans leurs processus. Elles répondent à des besoins sociaux tout en créant de nouvelles relations entre des personnes et des groupes qui n’avaient pas nécessairement l’habitude de coopérer. L’innovation sociale naît d’un processus nécessairement ouvert.

Les trois phases du processus de création des innovations sociales :

Phases du processus de création des innovations sociales

Sources :
RQIS, Favoriser l’émergence et la pérennisation des innovations sociales au Québec – Synthèse des travaux de la communauté d’intérêt sur l’innovation sociale, 2011.
RQIS, Acteurs et processus d’innovation sociale au Québec, 2007.